Inter-Research > Ecology Institute > Call for Nominations
ECI Prize and IRPE Prize 2021 in Terrestrial Ecology: call for nominations

The International Ecology Institute (ECI) is inviting nominations of candidates for the ECI and IRPE Prize.


Every two years the ECI selects two top performers in the field of ecology: the winner of the International Ecology Institute (ECI) Prize, which carries an endowment of € 6000, and the winner of the International Recognition of Professional Excellence (IRPE) Prize, which carries an endowment of € 3000.


The ECI Prize honours the recipient for outstanding and sustained scientific achievements and comes with the requirement to author a book in the “Excellence in Ecology” series. This book series provides authors with the opportunity to share their knowledge with a wide audience (including both experts and lay people) and thus benefit science and society alike. The books are made available worldwide on a non-profit basis. The IRPE Prize honours a young ecologist (no older than 45 years, or within 15 years of having received their PhD) who has published uniquely independent, original and/or challenging research representing an important scientific breakthrough, and/or who is working under particularly challenging conditions.


Nominations for the ECI and IRPE Prizes 2021 in Terrestrial Ecology are now invited. Candidates must have agreed to the nomination and (for the ECI Prize) to the requirement to write a book. Nominations should include a brief statement describing why the nominee qualifies for the prize, as well as the candidate’s CV, publication list, and (for the ECI Prize) a short outline of the proposed book, with an expected completion date.


Nominations should be addressed via nomination form below.


If you have any question please contact Administrative Assistant, Danka Radowska (danka(at)


Deadline for nominations: May 31, 2021


Download the full guidelines

Nomination Form


Statement of Qualifications
Outline of Book and expected completion date (only for ECI prize)