Inter-Research > ECI Prize Awarding > ECI Award Ceremony 2004  
ECI Prizes 2004
  • ECI Prize in marine ecology: Professor Bo Barker Jørgensen, Director Max-Planck-Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany
  • IRPE Prize in marine ecology: Dr. Markus Weinbauer, Laboratoire d'Océanographie de Villefranche-sur-mer, France


Jury chair: Professor Victor Smetacek, Alfred-Wegener-Institute, Bremerhaven, Germany


The International Ecology Institute in Oldendorf/Luhe was also pleased to welcome the ECI Prize winner 2003 in Limnetic Ecology (who was unable to attend last year): Professor Jonathan J. Cole, President of the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography

Photos: Nate Russell, IR Webmaster


For further photos see:

Participants: Front, from left: Prof. Bo Barker Jørgensen, Inga Jørgensen, Dr. Markus Weinbauer, Prof. Otto Kinne (IR), Helga Kinne (IR), Christiane Hart (IR), Prof. Jonathan J. Cole, Prof. Friedrich Widdel, Karen Smetacek, Prof. Victor Smetacek; Prof. Rudolf Amann, Prof. Johannes Imhoff 2nd row: Prof. Antje Boetius, Dr. Daniel Conley, Ivor George, Dr. Clare Lehane (IR), Helga Witt (IR) 3rd row: Matthias Seaman (IR), Angela Fromm (IR), Mary Batson(IR), Anna Loßmann (IR), Cathy Fesefeldt (IR), Günter Rund 4th row: John Austin (IR), Bernhard Fromm (IR), Bill Neel (IR), Dr. Dirk de Beer Back: Eduard van Leeuwen, Iris Rousseau van Leeuwen, Sigried Prigge, Thorben Gutknecht (IR), Rainer Prigge